Gun Control Forum on Facebook Gun Control Forum on Google Plus Gun Control Forum on Twitter

Greetings Gun Control Debater

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with OpenID Sign In with Twitter

Popular Gun Control Forum Categories

In this Discussion

Buying a Gun

edited October 2015 in Gun Control Debates Posts: 246
I hear a lot of people are upset with deeper background checks.  Why? This isn't a dig; I am curious. What goes into the current background checks?  What do they research to see if you should carry a firearm?

Comments

I am a hunter and a gun owner and I have no problem with a background check and think it should be done and any mental problems that are known should be included in that check along with any violent criminal charges.That's fair to me and should be known before any one has a gun.We also have to have a State Police background check to get a F.O.I.D card witch is needed to have a gun or to hunt as it should be.
  • It's because they think the government is making this up so that it'll take much longer and be harder for people to get their firearms.
  • What difference does it make if you get the gun today or tomorrow? Is that really going to mess up your plans for the gun that much? If people learned to plan ahead, then this would not matter. What does a background check really do besides make sure that someone with a history of mental illness or crime does not get their hands on a gun?
    You can't get a gun the same day you want to buy one.There is a waiting period and background check in my state any way,and no problem with it at all.